Virtual Event State-Level Teachers Award Ceremony held today

Teachers not only impart knowledge, but also develop qualities of good citizens in the students: Governor Ms. Anusuiya Uikey
Governor and Chief Minister felicitates teachers

Traditions and education hold the highest significance in our vision of 'Garhbo Nava Chhattisgarh': Mr. Bhupesh Baghel

Virtual event of State-Level Teachers Award Ceremony held today

Raipur, 22 July 2021: "Teachers not only impart knowledge of various subjects but also inculcate qualities of a good citizen in their students. Teachers identify the hidden talents of students, nurture them and teach them the right way to live life. They build character and sow seeds of morality in students, said Governor Ms. Anusuiya Uikey, while addressing the State-Level Teachers Award-function 2020. On the occasion, Governor and Chief Minister Mr. Bhupesh Baghel felicitated the teachers for their remarkable work and excellent contribution. Governor congratulated and extended best wishes to all the teachers felicitated on the occasion. Governor also paid tribute to the teachers who passed away due to COVID-19. At the State-Level Teachers Award Ceremony, three teachers selected for State Teacher Award Memorial Award 2020 and 47 teachers selected for State Teacher Award 2019 were honored.

Governor said that teachers are our guides, they shape our personality. They not only give us the light of knowledge but also give us the courage to walk on the path of truth. Teachers dedicate their entire life to make this world a better place. She further said for last one and a half years, whole world is struggling with the pandemic, but the teachers overcame the challenges and continued to educate students through Mohalla Classroom or Padhai Tuhar Dwar, through online classes.

While talking about the new education policy, Governor Ms Uikey said that the objective of this policy is to ensure holistic development of children and to equip them with practical knowledge and skills. The policy also emphasizes on inclusive education with special focus on socially and economically backward classes. Besides, a separate 'Gender Inclusion Fund' will also be created, so as to provide uninterrupted  education to girls in the state.

Describing the role of teachers in these changing times, Governor said that teachers have many challenges before them today. The enrollment rate of children at primary-level is 90 percent, which gradually decreases up to higher secondary-level. She said that the teachers should adopt innovative measures and make teaching method more inclusive and fun so that children do not leave their studies midway.

Chief Minister Mr. Bhupesh Baghel said that teachers hold a highly respectable position in our society. Honouring our traditions and development of education sector is our highest priority under the vision of 'Gadbo Nava Chhattisgarh'. We aim to make education the biggest medium of public welfare. He said that great teachers like former President Bharat Ratna Late Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan and Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam are a source of inspiration for all of us.

Chief Minister Mr. Bhupesh Baghel said that we begin our education from home, and go on to learn from experiences and mistakes. The great teacher and Bharat Ratna Dr. Radhakrishnan ji believed that a teacher is not the one who forces facts on a student, but the one who prepares the student for challenges of tomorrow. The current education system of India enhances the breadth of our knowledge about diverse subjects and technologies. It helps us to know about our culture and morals. Chief Minister expressed his gratitude to the teachers for holding the reins of education during the difficult times of pandemic. He said that the teachers have also acted as front line warriors and their contribution in this difficult time cannot be forgotten.

Congratulating all the teachers who were felicitated at State-level Teachers Felicitation Ceremony, Chief Minister Mr. Bhupesh Baghel said that it has been a tradition to organize such programmes on the occasion of Teachers' Day, but due to the untimely demise of former President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee and because of the COVID crisis, the programme could not be organized last year. However, at present, COVID situation in the state is much under control and teachers' day a few weeks away, hence in the meantime this event was organized to maintain the tradition.

While paying tribute to the former President of the country, Late Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, School Education Minister Dr. Premsai Singh Tekam said that from the birth of a child to his entire life, Guru plays an extremely important role in a student's life. Guru prepares us to fight and overcome the difficulties of life. But the way teachers have contributed towards continuing the learning process of children during COVID crisis is historic. Teachers have imparted education to millions of children through innovations like offline and online education, mohalla class, Padhai Tuhar Duar.

On this occasion, at Raj Bhavan, Governor Ms. Uikey felicitated teachers namely- Mrs. Madhu Sharma from Mahasamund, Mr. Naresh Kumar Nayak from Mahasamund, Mrs. Leena Verma from Raipur and Mr. Gopal Varma from Raipur with shawl-shriphal and a bank draft of Rs. 21 thousand. Likewise, at CM House, Chief Minister Mr. Bhupesh Baghel conferred awards in the memory of renowned litterateurs of the state under the State Teacher Award Memorial Award 2020. He conferred the Dr. Mukutdhar Pandey Memorial Award to Mrs. Rashmi Gupta, Lecturer Government High School, Libyadih, Bilaspur. Mr. Dinesh Kumar Pandey Higher Category Teacher Government Pre-Secondary School, Ochinapar, Kota, Bilaspur was awarded Dr. Baldev Prasad Mishra Memorial Award and Mr. Munnalal Devdas Pradhan Pathak Government Boys Middle School, Kaundkera Fingeshwar Gariaband with Dr. Padumalal Punnalal Bakshi Memorial Award. Chief Minister felicitated the three awardees by presenting them with a citation, a shawl, shriphal and a bank draft of Rs 50,000. Mr. Baghel also felicitated two teachers, Mrs. Shailja Suresh, Lecturer Government Higher Secondary School, Kohka Durg and Dr. Mrs. Nilanjana Jain, Senior Teacher, Government Middle School, Newai Durgfor their remarkable work in the field of education.

Names of the 54 teachers selected for State Teacher Award 2020 were announced in the program by School Education Minister Dr. Premsai Singh Tekam. Agriculture Minister Mr. Ravindra Choubey, Chief Secretary Mr. Amitabh Jain, Additional Chief Secretary to Chief Minister Mr. Subrat Sahu, Secretary, School Education Department, Dr. Kamalpreet Singh and Secretary to Governor Mr. Amrit Khalko were present in the function. Teachers joined the program online from their respective districts.