United States break WR in Big Relay Win

United States wins Gold Medal and Germany gets Silver Medal in Olympic Swimming Men's 4 × 100 metre Medley Relay

Team USA break world record to win men's 4x100m medley relay

Now time for the last swimming final at the Tokyo Aquatics Centre, and also Caeleb Dressel's chance to win a fifth gold medal of these Games.

Ryan Murphy, Michael Andrew, Caeleb Dressel and Zach Apple of Team USA reach top podium whilst Team GB picks up silver

Caeleb Dressel is down to swim the butterfly leg. Remember, though, that James Guy (GBR) swam a 50-flat fly in the mixed medley relay.

They're off in the final.

Ryan Murphy (USA) turns in the lead in lane 1, inside the world record split, and hands over to Michael Andrew in the lead.

GB have Adam Peaty swimming the breaststroke leg so expect him to come to the fore here.

Peaty is powering through! He has eaten into that American lead massively and will hand over in the lead! 56.53 on the split!

Guy's turn to take over, against Dressel in lane 1, here comes Dressel! The lead is just 0.07!

Dressel will give Zach Apple a big lead of 0.6 seconds!

Duncan Scott anchoring GB. US in the lead with a big lead as Apple opens it further! The world record under threat here.

Apple brings it home gold for the United States in a world record 3:26.78 and Caeleb Dressel has five golds!

Great Britain silver, Italy bronze.

Dressel's fly split was 49.03.

History too for Scott – the first Briton to win four medals at a single Games in any sport.

Team USA stormed to victory at the Tokyo Aquatics Centre today and set a new world record of 3:26.78 in the men's 4x100m medley relay.

Ryan Murphy launched into an early lead in backstroke, but teammate Michael Andrew couldn't hold off the challenge against Team GB's Adam Peaty and dropped a few seconds behind the British swimmer.

However, Caeleb Dressel made a stunning comeback to gain the lead against Team GB with teammate Zach Apple sealing victory for Team USA and touched gold at a record-breaking time of 3:26.78.

Records tumbled as well for the Team GB quartet - Luke Greenbank, Adam Peaty, James Guy and Duncan Scott - as they picked up silver, breaking a new European record at 3:27.51.

The Italian quartet - Thomas Ceccon, Nicolo Martinenghi, Federico Burdisso and Alessandro Miressi, claimed bronze with a time of 3:29.17.